Missy Pie and Mr. Sir

Black on Black on White (and such)…


A Mr. Sir post…

Ok, so nobody is going to talk about it, so I’m gonna go there…

In making this blog a positive place to be, I’ll be sure to make this issue as light as possible (please let me know in the comments below if you think it’s getting too deep up in here!). It’s one that not many of the people I know talk about, but I’m sure some experience.

It starts, as always, when I’m out with my family. For some reason, the following math brings out many mixed reactions from the people we meet:
 +  = 

  1. The most amusing of all are the stares back and forth; even more amusing when it’s just me and Lady Cakes around and about, as in our recent adventure to see Santa. While on this adventure of ours, Lady Cakes and I came across an asian couple who first stared at the little one, then at me, then quickly back at her. By the time they both looked at me again, there was a perplexed look on their faces. My only reply was a smile and a nod as we continued on our merry way. Yes, she’s my baby!
  2. The slightly annoying, but still amusing “gimme a high five” reaction from people who are either finally in this century, or those who just don’t really care about race relations is funny as hell. This amuses me because it makes me feel like I’ve just joined an exclusive and secretive club, and now I’m being rewarded with knowing nods and smiles.
  3. The one that I love the best is from other interracial couples. These folks seem to understand that love truly does conquer all. They really don’t care what others have to say about their relationship.
  4. The most annoying, and frankly, rude reaction of them all, is the disbelieving stare. The “but, wait, how come your baby is white? You’re black!” or the “I can’t believe you leaving your black sistas out.” This one comes mainly when I’m out with my lovely family, and is mostly given by the traditional large family units (older parents/grandparents with their children of one race).

This post is mainly for group #4; I think I know why we get that stare from you. First and foremost, I’ll tell you that it bothers me, but not for the reason you think. I love my wife, and I love my baby girl. I love my family. I could care less what anyone thinks of the choices I’ve made, because they are mine to make; I’m very proud of my choices and my family. I think these assumptions are made about what I look like and who I should in turn be. Well, just stop it. The generalizations that have gone on with me since I stepped foot in this state are just plain ridiculous and they simply must stop. I realize that that may be a pipe dream… So since you stopped here today and are wondering what generalizations I’m talking about, here are the assumptions (and how they are wrong):

  1. I am Jamaican – I know that I have dreadlocks; I’ve been wanting to grow them for as long as I can remember. I also know that Jamaicans (in your mind) have dreadlocks; however, that is not to say that all Jamaicans have dreadlocks. And most importantly, I am not Jamaican. I could probably fool the untrained ear, but I’d be up a particular creek without a paddle amongst true Jamaicans…
  2. I am an athlete – There have been many prolific football players in the past two decades with dreadlocks. Applying the same logic as above, I can assure you that I am not an athlete. I used to be mistaken for “Pacman” Jones, a former Tennessee Titans player and even now am asked a lot if I play fottball. No, I’ve never played football in my life. In fact, I’m still trying to figure the game out even after 8 years…
  3. I am a purist – And what about me gave you that idea? I’m of the school that we are one people, and colour makes no difference. If love prevails, then let it be, I say! And I do love my family, which includes Lil’ Mama, Tia Clara, and everyone related to me by any means! I don’t ever remember race or colour being a issue in the Caribbean (please correct me if I’m wrong, my Caribbean folks!, and NO, I’m not talking about race relations during slavery! Surely, we’re over that aren’t we?). And although I’m not shocked or surprised anymore, it’s still embarrassing that you think that way… (I couldn’t care less, remember?)
  4. I like to do (fill in the blank…), just like everyone else – Again, what about me leads you to think this is the case for me? If you know me, you’d know I’m really my own person. I do what I want and what I want most is to be with my family, free from ridiculous assumptions and notions.

Hey, where’d the light part of this post go? In any case, I love my family; I love the rich heritage that BOTH of us can pass on to our daughter, and she should know that there is nothing, absolutely NOTHING to be ashamed of! We all are one people, and no one can tell me otherwise! So stop sippin’ that Hateade, and celebrate the differences that makes us all so unique!

This entry was written by rastommy and published on January 16, 2012 at 4:56 pm. It’s filed under Family, Funny, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Black on Black on White (and such)…

  1. Mr. Sir, you are black? What? Okay Missy Pie, you never told me!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Enjoying the blog, seriously, I love it all.

    And if someone asked me about you, I would straight up tell them you are a nerd! A down to earth nerd who always plays down the whole brains thing. Can’t wait to see you all next weekend.

  2. Very well written, I enjoy reading your posts very much!

Leave a Reply

