Missy Pie and Mr. Sir

Home Sweet Home


A Mr. Sir post…

There is a saying, “Home is where the heart is.”. Boy is that ever true! Is it possible for your heart to be in many places at once? Yes, yes it is, and I can attest to that!

As a child, I remember moving quite a bit for a while, due to different family circumstances. I’ve never had a problem moving around like a checker piece; as a matter of fact, I loved it. And I still do. I love the chance to start anew, and to do things in a different way.

Though leaving family, friends, and all things familiar can be a sad experience, I saw it as a way to see the world with a fresh set of eyes, by actually visiting those new places. Living on four different islands by the time I was 11, I naturally have places that I remember best of each, and wish for a little piece of it in my life everyday. In Puerto Rico, that would be Old San Juan, specifically, El Morro. In St. Croix, it was the colonial-style old town of Christiansted; Tortola, in the British Virgin Islands, it was the Cay (pronounced key in ‘Tolian) that was about a 5 minute walk from our apartment. And Dominica, well, pretty much the whole darn island!

There is a reason why I’m droning on about all these places from my childhood. There is one common denominator in the aforementioned places; can you guess? Yep, the sea! Now I can’t swim like a fish (I can float pretty well, though, does that count?), but I enjoy snorkeling a few feet below. I love the sea, the sand, the sun… the smell of sea water. Not from a tourist point of view, but because I feel like I am born of the sea. And I have to say, I miss it more that I thought I’d ever miss anything in my life.


Enter LadyCakes. I was so worried about her reaction to the sea when we visited the beach where MissyPie and myself were married this past Thanksgiving holiday. I secretly feared rampaging crying and an immediate withdrawal into her primal state, rolled up into a ball with suckling finger as she was in the womb (she’s not like this actually, this is just Papa’s over-active imagination!). Slowly, Mama and Papa guided her towards the Atlantic Ocean, which is currently my only physical link to the Caribbean…

 

We took her to the water…


And… Nothing. Nothing but content, and a happy smile on her face! This child amazes me every single day! I think she connected much in the way MissyPie and I did when we met, like when I dipped my feet into the water minutes earlier and felt the essence of home wash over me. She was home.

In closing, all I can say is that for me, where ever MissyPie and LadyCakes are, that is my home. And I hope that one day I can share with them my version of home, of what they both mean to me, wrapped up in the sweet smell of the islands and sea salt…

This entry was written by rastommy and published on December 25, 2011 at 1:14 am. It’s filed under Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

